Monk Fruit

Through a bit of serendipity, my class schedule for ACU has provided three wonderful opportunities for me in the next calendar year. First, I don’t have to take a class in January. Having a break…any break…is going to be amazing, especially with Connor to take up my attention and time. Secondly, the class I am taking in the spring is going to be in Minnesota over Spring Break, which I’ll discuss more later. Third, pandemic-willing, next summer I finally get to meet my Aussie friends in person! Can’t wait to show them all the wonders of Abilene. Both of them.

As for Minnesota…it’ll be 4.5 days at an abbey in Collegeville, MN. That’s right, I get to hang out in a monastery and see what Benedictine life looks like up close and personal. I’m pumped about this for a few reasons, including the fact it’ll be cold. I like cold. I like snow. I prefer Spring Breaking where the temps go down, not at the beach. Perhaps I’m broken. I’m also excited because let’s be honest: anyone who knows me at all knows I’m not a monk. This is going to stretch me, grow me, and probably stress me out, but all in really good ways. I haven’t been this excited about a class in possibly forever…maybe European History in high school, but that ended badly.

So if I ramble on here about the Benedictine Rule or my affinity for frigid temps and that’s not your jam, apologies in advance. It’s going to be awesome.

Leave a comment