Baby Sneezes and Dirty Diapers

My dad–the doctor, mind you–has always said that babies were gross. Not in a “Get that thing away from me” kind of way, but more as a warning: with a baby, you will be covered in bodily fluids and smell things and discover patches of dried something on more than one occasion. He always followed up that warning with one single caveat: Unless its your kid. And then its all amazing.

I’ve long been a proponent of the idea that non-waste producing bodily functions from kids and animals are the cutest things ever. Whenever London (the cat, since its been 5 months since my last post) yawns or sneezes, it inspires a collective “Awwww” from whoever is around. Declan (the baby, who didn’t exist 5 months ago) sneezes and follows it up with this loud sigh of relief, and I laugh every time. In fact, he’s sitting in his bouncer right now cooing, and if I wasn’t sick I’d go tackle him and cuddle him.

The unexpected part of all this actually has to do with the poop. I’m not sure any of us mind changing diapers, to the point where the same dad mentioned above volunteered to change Dex before we left Dallas because he wouldn’t get to do it again for a few weeks. It’s an honor to take care of Declan and keep him safe and dry and clean, even when his diapers are none of those things.

Therefore, this year’s edition of ridiculous resolutions for the upcoming trip around the sun will center around not just doing things that make me happy, but things that need to be done for the betterment of all. On to the predestined failures!

1. Goodbye Soda*: As noted in this space before, my birthday is conveniently located 50 days from the beginning of the new year. Therefore, starting Jan 1 I will be forgoing all soda in an attempt to cut calories, sugar, caffeine, and carbonation from my system and reboot things a bit. *Unless we go to Grimaldi’s. Pizza is the one thing I can’t seem to have without soda…it was true in college and true today.

2. Write more posts: I’d like to write at least once a week. I can’t keep up with Callahan, who decided to write once a day for a year and actually pulled it off, but once a week seems reasonable and should allow me to press the release valve on my brain more often, for both good and bad.

Hold on. Declan is screaming because he’s chunked his wubbanub across the room. (There’s a sentence that wouldn’t have made sense to me at all a year ago.)

3. Get more involved with church, outside of church: When I was in high school, we made a commitment in our youth group to be more than a “Sunday/Wednesday church.” This meant hanging out with each other, doing things outside of the building, and making our own momentum. Declan has been a (very VERY welcome) distraction, but we need to get back into the flow of reaching out to the community and to our community. So I want to start doing things in my “free time*” that will make this a better world for Dex to live in. *Free time will look very weird in a week or so, but I’ll explain it then.

4. Lose 10 pounds by Spring Break, and 30 pounds by the end of the year: Things have gotten…fluffy…at the Henderson household. Declan has more rolls than Christmas dinner, I’m one giant roll…its not good. So we’re going to work on that, thanks to a renewed commitment to health and an exercise gym membership from Logos. I’ll give statistics when I finally make it into the gym next week (when I’m not sick and I don’t have the baby with me) but I can guarantee this: I weigh more now than I did when I started my weight loss journey a few years ago, and that’s ridiculous.

So there you have it. Goodbye soda, writing more, doing more, and weighing less. 2015 will be challenging, but hopefully successful and a lot of fun.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go change my son, and I couldn’t be any more thrilled.

Leave a Reply

