Day 818–Gundermann Acres

You know, I generally have no idea how much food weighs.  My kitchen scale is a wonderful tool so I can get two ounces of pasta, four ounces of beef, etc.  And if I can’t handle it on a small scale, imagine on a large scale. Madness.

So when I ordered a small share box from Gundermann Acres and it promised 17 pounds of food, I wasn’t completely sure what I’d gotten myself into.  All I can say is, “Wow!”  It was a massive box with strawberries, grape tomatoes, a cucumber, kale, beets, radishes, three different kinds of lettuce, three different kinds of spinach…it was nuts.  And as we get farther into the summer, the berries are going to be incredible.  I’m psyched about this little arrangement, and the delicious food its going to help provide.

Breakfast–I got up this morning trying to finish off my Dolce Bars for Taste of Sugar Grove…and promptly made toffee on my first attempt at caramel.  My mom got me a great candy thermometer that for some reason doesn’t work for beans.  So it’s in the garbage now, next to the toffee and ruined shortbread.  Sorry mom…I won’t hold it against you.

Lunch–Chipotle with Leah and Kelsey!  A burrito bowl with brown rice, black beans, fajita veggies, carnitas, corn salsa, hot salsa, and lettuce.  And tea. Noooo soda. Tea.  If I hadn’t managed to develop a psychotic migraine while freaking out over the toffee fiasco, I think I would have had more fun AND been more fun.  Win/Win.  Had fun with the girls though!

Dinner–Pasta.  Whole wheat spaghetti, homemade pasta sauce, sauteed asparagus, shallot, and zucchini, with some chicken/apple sausage.  Just as good as it sounds my friends…just as good.

Dessert–Whipped cream with cocoa, lightly sweetened, and topped with blueberries.  Also as good as it sounds.

Taste of Sugar Grove tomorrow! Woohoo!

Have a good one.

Leave a Reply

