Day 763–The ‘Rents Came to Visit

Sorry for the lack of blogging.  The last four days have consisted of eating too much, coming home, sitting on the couch until I could properly move, going to bed, and then repeating.  Most of our food choices were old standbys (old to us, new to my parents!) like Lupe Tortilla, Red River Barbecue, Ruggles Green, and Escalantes, but we also tried something new: Haven.

Before I dive into the Haven review, I have to give honorable mention to Escalantes and Ruggles.  Escalantes was our backup choice for lunch today, but unbeknownst to me, they have a brunch menu as well.  Sweet. Mercy.  Best french toast I’ve ever had. No lie.  Ruggles, on the other hand, served my dad the best soup he’s ever had in their corn chowder.  Not the best corn chowder he’s ever had, but he said THE BEST SOUP EVER.  Which is kind of awesome.  So well done you two…take a bow.

Haven was, not to put too fine a point on it, ridiculous.   It’s a sustainable restaurant right off of Kirby, just north of 59.  It’s disturbingly close to where we used to live…if it had been open then, we wouldn’t have any money.  My meal started off with a pork belly al pastor sope…flavorful braised pork belly, pineapple, white onion, cilantro, all on top of a freshly fried masa disc of happiness.  My entree was grilled free range chicken, bacon spaetzle, and crispy fried brussels sprouts with a side of sweet potato pecan hash.  My only complaints: not enough of the sprouts (it was like half a sprout fried and sprinkled over the top) and the sweet potatoes were cut “rustically” and therefore some were undercooked.  Other than that, it was absolutely fantastic.  I wanted to keep eating and keep eating…phenomenal meal.  I’ll go back tomorrow if you want to pay for it.

We had a great time with my parents.  I know some people enjoy company, especially parental company, for a few days and then everyone’s ready to go back home, but it was truly a joy to have them here.  I’m lucky in the relationship we have, and it was sad to see them go.  Abby and I are blessed to have them so close and to have such a great time with them when we can.  Love you, Mom and Dad.

Breakfast–Pillsbury cinnamon rolls.  I didn’t go completely overboard with the hospitality thing, although I did make beer bread for Friday and scones for Saturday morning.  But with church and class prep and whatnot, popping a can in the oven was the best option.

Lunch–The aforementioned french toast, with breakfast potatoes and a side of bacon.  The french toast was, I kid you not, the consistency of a sopapilla. Light, fluffy (it deflated a bit when I cut into it) with a crunchy/sugary outside (it was deep fried…yep) and what I believe was an apple-maple syrup…so freaking good.

Dinner–In fact, I wasn’t even close to hungry by dinner.  I had two pieces of bread, and I still feel like I want to roll over and explode.

Game tomorrow up here in my neck of the woods, a paper to finish, and class in Abilene to prepare for.  Going to be a fun week!

Have a good one.

Leave a Reply

