Day 743–The Reckoning

Tonight on The Biggest Loser they played “Keep Your Eyes Open” by NEEDTOBREATHE off their album “The Reckoning.”  I’ve got mixed emotions about that particular song placement.

First, I love that song. I love that album.  And best of all, they’re good Christian guys and anything that gets their version of the Gospel in peoples’ ears is a good thing.  I hope people watched the show tonight and thought to themselves “What was THAT?!  I need to find that song!” I hope they found it and therefore found people speaking the truth of Christ’s love.  Christian music and Christian artists on television make me not just happy, but joyful.

Second, I’m struck by the irony of that particular album choice, because as the contestants on The Biggest Loser were running a 5K, I’m sitting here getting sick and making cookies.  That seems contradictory, ironic, idiotic…choose your word.  They’re good cookies and I behaved, only making a couple and saving the dough for later so I can just bake off a couple at a time, but eating baked goods while watching a weight loss show reeks of irony.

Third, we had practice today.  If any of my players are reading this, here’s what I was thinking today.  For some reason it seems like the last week or so I haven’t been able to get through to them.  Things I ask them to do in practice aren’t connecting, and its carrying over to the games.  We’re relying on natural talent and ability, which we honestly don’t have a ton of, instead of relying on each other and trying to play as a team.  We have three very winnable games coming up, and it’ll be a shame to go 0-3, but that’s where we’re headed.  It’s frustrating and maddening.

Fourth, my classes are just chaotic.  I’m not motivated at all.  I want it to be over with. Yesterday.

Breakfast–Half raspberry Mini Wheats, half chocolate Mini Wheats.  All delicious.

Lunch–Panda Express after practice.  I actually really like Panda…good combination of sweet, spicy, savory, salty…I just like Asian food.

Dinner–Abby wanted Chick Fil A before she went to Canton to get her hair did, so Chick Fil A we had.  12 nuggets and a large fruit cup with water.  And two cookies for dessert.

Game tomorrow, Abby comes home, and a paper that will hopefully write itself…ugh.

Have a good one.

Leave a Reply

