Day 737–Too Bad I Used The Airplane Joke Already

I awoke this morning basking in the glow of victory, listening to the crowds cheering.

Of course, it was really the light from my wife’s iPad and the cat meowing like the psychotic furball she is. But I can spin it how I want to make my life seem more epic, can’t I?

Today was Abby’s day off, so we celebrated in style.  Breakfast at La Madeleine, a viewing of Silver Linings Playbook, and lunch at Lupe Tortilla.  In order of importance:

1) La Madeleine’s menu has fallen apart over the years.  I’m a big fan, but the pastry selection especially has gone from great to good to dismal.  I did enjoy the audio recording teaching me French in the bathroom though…that was a new experience.

2) I trashed Lupe Tortilla for a long time–mainly because with the exception of the fajitas (really expensive) and apparently the margaritas (I don’t drink those) it isn’t anywhere close to good Tex-Mex–but for a treat every once in a while, those are REALLY good fajitas.  Although today’s “service” definitely lessened my opinion.  Still…I sort of apologize to Lupe.

3) Silver Linings…what the heck happened to the last thirty minutes of that movie?!  It was such a strong start: Amazing acting, scenes that made me feel empathy and incredibly uncomfortable, an interesting plot/twist on a traditional rom-com…and then it just turned into Napoleon Dynamite reads The Notebook.  And David O. Russell was nominated for an Academy Award over Ben Affleck? WHAT?!  Props to Lawrence and Cooper, the latter of whom is fast becoming one of my favorite actors and the former of whom is awfully nice to look at, but overall it was a good movie that just wasn’t that memorable.  Argo all the way.

Breakfast–The American Breakfast: two eggs, a croissant (…), and sausage patties.  I also had a mini chocolate croissant to remember the good times I used to enjoy at La Madeleine.

Lunch–Abby and I split the fajitas for one…and had enough to bring home for lunch tomorrow as well.  Breakfast apparently did it’s job.

Dinner–A smoothie comprised of yogurt, blueberries, peaches, pineapple, strawberries, and a banana.  Delicious, nutritious, and filling.

Pictures and practice tomorrow…woo!

Have a good one.

Leave a Reply

