Day 733–Trocadero

I watched a show on Cooking Channel today in which the host traveled around Paris and talked to crepe makers at some of the seemingly hundreds of creperies sprinkled throughout the winding Parisian streets.  Not only did it make me crave Nutella like a boss, but it threw me back in time almost fourteen years ago to my first trip to Paris with my school.

One of the first nights we were there, if not THE first night, we found ourselves staring up at an intricately lit Tour d’Eiffel, twinkling in the midnight sky like a giant welcome sign from the stairs of the Palais de Chaillot on the Trocadero.  Since this was pre-2000, it had the countdown clock still on it and it was extravagantly decked out in strobe lights and other finery for its moment in the global limelight.  We were tired, we were jet-lagged, and we were struck by an overwhelming smell of delicious pastry…the crepe.  Located (at the time) on the right side of the Palais de Chaillot (if the Eiffel Tower is behind you…left side if you’re looking at Gustave’s lady) was a creperie willing to part with some deliciousness for a few words of butchered French and a couple Francs.  I don’t know if that’s the best crepe cart in Paris, but for my money, that first manhole-sized pocket filled with gooey Nutella is the embodiment of dessert perfection.

Breakfast–Apple Cinnamon oatmeal with a banana.  Good starter meal.

Lunch–A smoothie, this time with the added awesomeness of Yoplait Cherry Orchard yogurt.  Makes all the difference in the world.  4 oz of strawberries and peaches, 8 oz of cherries, a banana, and the yogurt.  It was AWESOME and kept me full for a really long time.

Exercise–We got to practice!  Probably the only time for another week, but better than nothing.

Dinner–Genghis Grill.  Beef bowl with my usual, minus the mushrooms.  Couldn’t make them fit.

If I had Nutella, I’d eat it for dessert.  This is why I don’t have Nutella.

(Bonus points if you caught the ridiculousness that the first time I went to Paris they still had Francs.)

Have a good one. (Or if the mood strikes you, Avoir une bonne journée.)

 

Leave a Reply

