Day 731–Year Two

As much as year one was a success, year two was a failure.  I weigh more now than I did when the blogging year started, I got into some terrible habits, I somehow managed to hurt myself a few times working out…it just wasn’t good.  The positive aspect is that, with all of the crazy things that have happened in the last 365 (leap year…that’s why this isn’t January 10th), I think I’m back on track.  We’re back “home,” we’ve recommitted to eating healthier and working out (side note: It’s rained for two days straight here, making going outside a less than stellar proposition. Nothing like a Mother Nature roadblock), and we hope beyond hope that the craziness has stopped for a while.

I’ve experienced some ridiculous weight rollercoasters in my life.  All throughout high school I weighed the same thing, then got to college and blew up.  Freshman Fifteen by October, all that fun stuff.  When I worked at Wilderness Expeditions, I would routinely lose 25-30 pounds every summer, then gain it all back quickly once I resumed “normality.”  Earlier this calendar year I got down to 212 lbs, and now I’m at 234 or more.  My biggest problem has always been that my “normal” really sucked, health-wise.  I worked out (playing basketball or something else) all the time in high school, and then stopped in college.  I climbed mountains, routinely hiking 20-35 miles a week, during the summers in Colorado and then couldn’t/didn’t sustain it in Abilene.  And I didn’t eat/was on my feet all the time in January-March, and when I changed jobs I changed routines.  I need to get back to the healthy normal, where I lose weight slowly and surely, where I’m actually healthy.

That’s my goal for Year Three. And Four. And everything after that.

Breakfast–Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal with dried cherries and pumpkin seeds.  Good stuff.

Lunch–I drove to Sealy to have lunch with Abby.  Mixed Fajitas, and I only ate half of the mixture and saved the rest for…

Dinner–Baked sweet potatoes with fajitas on top.  SO GOOD.  I’ve had a hankering for sweet potatoes recently, and the ones I bought from HEB had bugs in them.  Brought them home, and within three hours all of them had holes in them.  Disgusting.  So I called in Kroger as the relief pitcher.  I sliced up some red bell pepper and jalapeno just to add to the color and flavor, and it was amazing.  The salty/savory/sweet palate attack was greatness.

Dessert–I had a bowl  of ice cream to stop a craving I’ve had for over two weeks.  And tomorrow, one way or the other, I’ll be working out to get it out of my system, literally and figuratively.

Here’s to Year Three people…thanks for staying with me and reading my ramblings.  I appreciate you all!

Have a good one.

One thought on “Day 731–Year Two

Leave a Reply

