Day 730–Right Under Your Nose

Today was a day of obviousness.

In soccer, we went back to the 4-4-2 formation we started (and had great success) with.  It fits our personnel, it fits our style, and it fits our home field (of our last 13 games, 9 of them are home games. The schedule was skewed funny).  If we can close up some of the gaps in our game, its the formation that will help us have the best chance to win.  It’s also the most common, basic formation that exists, which in retrospect makes tinkering with it kind of stupid.  We aren’t Barcelona or Man U, so getting all experimental is kind of silly.

In wedding cake (actually grooms cake, but whatevs) land, I had an epiphany over dinner with the couple-to-be.  “Dessert” was a giant cookie jar of Reese’s cups, because the bride’s favorite candy is Reese’s.  My favorite candy is Reese’s.  Everything I make/eat is chocolate and peanut butter.  HOW DID I NOT SEE THIS?!  So the grooms cake is now chocolate with a peanut butter buttercream.  And the world is happy once again.

In weight loss, I bought a giant bag of apples.  Because I badly wanted an apple today…how great is that?  I mean, I also craved ice cream, but I actually wanted healthy food.  Perhaps I’m back on track.

Breakfast–My other grapefruit, brûléed once again.  I know I got the accents right this time. Except brûléed is not a word.  Oh well…you win some, you lose some.

Lunch–A bowl of salad greens with some of the quinoa/bulgur mixture from last night, pumpkin seeds, and dried cherries. And a Fiber One bar.  And some chocolate mini wheats for dessert.

Snack–The aforementioned apple with a big spoon of peanut butter.

Dinner–Quinoa spaghetti, meat sauce, and green beans at Lauren and Kyle’s house.  Good food, great friends…I’m excited for their wedding!

Dessert–Reese’s minis. Lots of them.  I’m a sucker for that candy.

Probably no practice tomorrow…its raining a lot down here in H-town.  Makes soccer difficult.

Have a good one.

Leave a Reply

