Day 728b–Eating Clean

Today was a magnificent food day…I really feel like I’m getting my groove back. Just in time for the season to restart and my schedule to get jacked up again.  I’ve tried to emphasize produce, nuts, and reintroduce fish back into my diet, and so far I’ve been moderately successful.  In fact, with the exception of a couple of tablespoons of sugar introduced throughout the day, everything I ate today was really clean…and I feel better for it.

Breakfast–Bruleéd grapefruit.  Cut out the sections, sprinkle with a bit of sugar, and torch.  Crunchy, sweet, sour, tart, juicy…amazing. (Full disclosure: I don’t know if I put the accent aigu on the right ‘e’ up there. Don’t judge.)

Lunch–Salad greens with pumpkin seeds and spicy chile tuna and a side of Somersaults, a great seed-based cracker.  It was goooooood.  It’s kind of incredible how a dash of salt and pepper can enhance a salad and you don’t need an oily, calorie-filled dressing.

Snack–A Peanut Butter Chocolate granola bar…I was a victim of false advertising.  Don’t buy things from Nature’s Path unless you can see them…the pictures lie.

Dinner–Roasted chicken legs that didn’t have enough flavor (fail on my part), black eyed peas simmered with a bit of chorizo (like two inches of Spanish chorizo for 4 cups of peas), a red quinoa and bulgur mixture, and steamed bok choy with a soy-ginger glaze.  The chicken was unnecessary…everything else was spectacular.  Shows you don’t need massive pieces of meat to make a good meal; good flavors and filling vegetables will do the trick.

Dessert–A Kashi Banana-Chocolate chip bar and a Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Larabar.  I bought a bunch of granola-type bars to try to find healthy snacks and get some different foods at different calorie levels.  So far the aforementioned Nature’s Path bar is the worst.

Practice tomorrow! And dinner with Kyle and Lauren…good times.

Have a good one.

Leave a Reply

