Day 725–Oh What A Way To Start The New Year

Sorry if you missed me, but I would say camping for the New Year was an absolute success.  That doesn’t mean it was “perfect,” but it does mean I had a blast and would do it again soon.  Rather than annoy you with long-winded recaps, here are two concise lists to summarize our outdoors experience.

Pros: Delicious food, playing 42 and spades, cold weather, great campfire, amazing friends, getting to use all my gear

Cons: Raining for 12 hrs straight on New Years Eve, everything smells like smoke, the Park Rangers were creepy, it was only two days

All in all, a fantastic way to begin 2013.  2012 started with a lot of insecurity and uneasiness for us, and while some of those questions are still unanswered, to be able to look around at a group of friends that will support us through thick and thin provides an overwhelming sense of calm.

Today, I guess to go to the opposite extreme after being “off the grid” for a couple of days, we had a Lord of the Rings movie marathon at church. All three movies–all three extended editions–leading to thirteen hours straight of LOTR madness.  And to top it off, there were even some kids that hadn’t ever seen them or (just as good) it had been years.  So we got to watch them anew through others’ eyes.

So the first three days have been incredible.  Lets hope the next 362 measure up!

Breakfast–Chocolate Mini Wheats before the Fellowship of the Ring and soccer practice.  I had enough time to watch the first hour and a half, then go to practice, and when I came back I saw the last 15-20 minutes.  Long movies.

Lunch–Chick Fil A after Fellowship.  Spicy Chicken Sandwich and fries, and then a peppermint chocolate chip shake.  I ate horribly today.

Dinner–Whataburger halfway through Return of the King.  Double Whataburger, with bacon and jalapenos, with fries.  Like I said, I ate poorly.

Tomorrow is a chance to reset my system a bit and eat healthier, although we’ll see if I can do it.  The body is willing, but the mind is weak.

Have a good one.

Leave a Reply

