Day 680–Playing With a Full Deck

For the first time this season, I had a starting XI to work with in practice today.  There were a few bad things about this…A) The football team lost their playoff game, which is why my football players were back.  I wish for their sakes they could have moved on and played some more games.  B) It was a morning practice.  So…my teenage boy players were a bit zombie-ish. C) We are THIN. Some injuries, some academic issues…going to be stressful.  But we can handle it.

A couple of days of practice together and we just might be able to make some noise. Feeling good.

Breakfast–Yeah…about that.  I woke up too late to eat before practice.  Physically I was okay…mentally I was a mess.  Not doing that again.

Lunch–Two peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.  This time it was peach jam from Lone Prairie Farms.  Not as good…needed more acid.  Kind of overpoweringly sweet, and because it was a jam and not preserves, there wasn’t even anything textural to break it up.  Might have to add lemon juice or something to it next time.

Dinner–Homemade fajitas.  Skirt steak with a rub of adobo seasoning from Penzey’s spices, sauteed onions and peppers, all on corn tortillas.  I think I’m going to switch back to flour tortillas from now on…the corn just don’t have any structure to them and fall apart everywhere.  And the Penzey’s spice blends usually have no salt added, something I always forget. So it needed more seasoning as well.  But they were delicious nevertheless, and I have leftovers for tomorrow.

Dessert–Since I didn’t eat breakfast, I had some calories to spare.  And it was almost 80 in Houston today, so I found myself craving ice cream.  About a cup and a half of chocolate peanut butter cup ice cream hit the spot quite well.

Practice tomorrow and then Thanksgiving break for real!  Oh, and HBU vs. Pepperdine.  It’s going to be crazy.

Have a good one.

Leave a Reply

