Day 676–Intentions Versus Reality

In practice today one of my captains (MS) very deftly drew a foul on contact that wasn’t there.  One of the things my dad hates about soccer is all the flopping, complaining, and play-acting that goes on (looking at you Italy) on routine plays, disrupting the flow and causing the grown men playing this game to look like complete morons.  I, on the other hand, hate it but I respect that its part of the game whether I like it or not, so I just move on.  Kind of like traveling in basketball…its not going to change anytime soon.  Therefore I commiserated with the player committing said foul (MF), because he got his elbow up around the captain’s shoulders, and the next thing I knew he was on the ground.  See, MF didn’t mean to foul MS.  I’m not even sure he did foul MS.  But he got his elbows up, MS hit the ground, and it sure LOOKED like he had committed a foul.  Unfortunately, in soccer and in weight loss, intentions don’t matter as much as what actually happens or what looks like happened.

I have grand intentions for my weight loss journey, not the least of which is #213by2013.  But talking about it and then eating a giant bowl of ice cream tonight, which I did, is kind of like putting my elbow in someone’s chest playing soccer–more often than not, its going to come back to burn me.  But just like the aforementioned “foul,” the ice cream serves as a teaching moment for me.  I have to back up my words with action–disciplined, careful action–or I’m going to end up in a place I’m not happy with.  To that end, I started using MyFitnessPal again today, and was (as always) blown away by the results.  I just don’t eat that well anymore.

This needs to change.  I know a lot of you read this and see me every week.  I appreciate how many readers I do have, regardless of the stats that show up on my homepage or whatever.  I need you, I BEG you, to hold me accountable.  Ask me how I’m doing.  Push me to be honest.  I have to lose weight…I’m killing myself with bad choices, and it needs to stop.

Breakfast–Chocolate Lucky Charms.  Here’s where a lot of my sugar intake for the day was, over 3 times as much as recommended. Go me.

Lunch–Two peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.  Here’s where more sugar (the jelly) and lots of fat (peanut butter) entered the picture.

Dinner–Half of a chicken fried rice order from Pei Wei and half of a Chicken Lettuce Wrap order.  Probably didn’t actually eat half of either, but its the easiest way to guess.  This was, by far, the healthiest thing I ate all day.  Which is just SAD.

Dessert–Big bowl of Butter Crunch Blue Bell while getting my tail handed to me by Evan St. Germain in Risk.  My winning streak is over with a big thud.

Time to get back on track here.  Practice tomorrow, some grad work, an HBU basketball game this weekend, and then Thanksgiving break.  You know, if I had a job.

Have a good one.

Leave a Reply

