Day 667–Flashback

Four years ago I wasn’t married, I hadn’t even begun to care about soccer, I still believed I’d never live in Houston, and I was moved to tears and anger by the way people responded to the presidential election.  Since then I’ve obviously tied the knot, I’m now coaching the Beautiful Game, I’ve somehow lived in Houston twice, and yet I still find myself concerned with the way we treat each other.  It’s pretty much a given that Obama is going to be re-elected, and that’s okay.  Not what I wanted, not what I voted for, but still okay.  Obama has a different vision for what America means than I do, and that’s the beauty of democracy.  Things have shifted, changed, and evolved politically in this country for 240 years, and hopefully we’ll have the chance to keep growing for another 240 more.  We are a country built on the right to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness, not hate, fear, and threats.  I pray we continue to hold fast to those ideals and, at least in my life, I always remember this is not my home.  Like any good visitor, I hope to leave it a better place than it was when I got here, but it’s not the end-all, be-all of my eternity.

May God bless America because it’s His will, not because we think we deserve it.  And may God bless Barack Obama because he’s our leader and needs our support, whether its through constructive criticism and the democratic process or championing causes we see eye to eye on.

The sun’s still going to rise tomorrow…what you do with the daylight is up to you.

Have a good one.

Leave a Reply

