Day 646–Gabriel’s Horn

It’s a common occurrence that when a smoke detector battery dies, it will do so right outside your bedroom at some point between 2-6 am. The horrible, louder, scarier, more extreme version of this happened last night/this morning when, at 3 am, the fire alarm in our entire apartment building decided to randomly malfunction and set off all the strobes, sirens, and heart-rate elevating bells and whistles you would expect.  Worst wake-up call ever.  So I got dressed, grabbed my phone and computer, we couldn’t find the cat (she’s resilient?) and hoofed it downstairs only to get the report from the complex that the alarm company isn’t sure why it just went off, there is no fire, but maintenance (the same maintenance that failed to show when the power went out) was “on their way to turn it off.”  So of course 30 minutes later the fire department finally arrived to turn it off, never did see the maintenance people, and an hour and a half after we woke up we finally settled back into bed (with London, who was sitting on the windowsill with the look of “What’s going on guys?” when we came back) and tried to calm down enough to sleep.  If you had told me that was how the world was going to end, with the loud blast of Gabriel’s horn, at 3 am I would have believed you.

In other news, I weighed in at 228 this morning, which wasn’t a huge surprise because of my extreme lack of willpower this last week, but still disappointing.  I have to be better for my own health and well-being.  Gaining weight is unacceptable.

We also had to cancel conditioning today because it rained. In Houston. I know! Shocking!

Breakfast–Chocolate Lucky Charms.  I’ve been able to slow down the constant consumption of food, but my sweet tooth is still going nuts.  The cereal helps a lot.

Lunch–Peanut butter and cherry jelly on hamburger buns of all things.  I didn’t want them to go bad so I ate them.

Snack–Another bowl of cereal because I love chocolate.

Dinner–Hash consisting of chicken apple sausage that I took out of the casing, some red potatoes, onions, and a small squirt of sriracha.  It was delicious, especially when paired with honey-cayenne cornbread because it was rainy and I know Abby loves cornbread.  Good meal.

Church tomorrow, some research for my class (blech), and Abby gets the day off. Woohoo!

Have a good one.

Leave a Reply

