Day 596–The Unlikely Disciple

I started rereading a book today. This is noteworthy for two reasons: 1) I’m using my time productively as opposed to taking naps or watching cartoons (although I do that too…I love cartoons) and 2) I never reread things. Ever. Part of the unfortunate nature of having a really good memory is that I don’t really like rewatching movies or rereading books (or checking my answers on tests…shh. Don’t tell.) because the element of surprise and mystery isn’t there anymore.  I know what happens.  I know how it ends.  I know WHY I picked a specific answer.  It’s a blessing and a curse.

Anyways, I picked up The Unlikely Disciple by Kevin Roose because I loved it the first time and needed a good reset on my idea of community (playing off yesterday’s post).  It’s just as great the second time around; grab a copy if you can.

Breakfast–Frosted Mini Wheats.  The break was good while it lasted, but I’m trying to empty out the pantry and fridge before we head to the not-so-frozen-quite-yet north of South Dakota.

Lunch–Buffalo Chicken sandwich with candied jalapenos and lettuce, and then I finished off my cheesecake from last night.  I can eat a LOT but one piece of cheesecake from The Cheesecake Factory is a lot for even me.  Spread over two days, however…its just deliciousness.

Dinner–Flank steak with a dry rub of brown sugar, cumin, ancho and chipotle peppers, and salt seared off in jalapeno oil.  Amazingness.  Some salad, Italian Farro cooked in chipotle chicken broth, and a small drizzle of cherry-jalapeno dressing as a side and we have one delicious meal.

Dessert–I decided to tinker with my awesome chocolate chip cookie recipe because Abby had a bad day, and ended up making them even better.  These I would DEFINITELY sell.

Tomorrow’s our last day in Houston for a good long while.  I’m excited about seeing my family!

Have a good one.

Leave a Reply

