Day 584–Brek Shea FTW

Today was a great, great day.

For those of you who don’t follow soccer (and I guess more specifically don’t follow my two favorite teams, Manchester United and FC Dallas) I’ll fill you in on the details.  First off, Robin Van Persie, winner of the Golden Boot as the top scorer in the EPL last year, officially moved to ManU barring any hanky panky with his physical.  I read it on the internet, therefore it must be true.  For a side that severely lacked any creative spark in the offensive end last year, this is HUGE, especially coupled with the Kagawa signing and a full season of healthy Tom Cleverley.  I’m pretty pumped…Monday can’t get here soon enough.

Secondly, Brek Shea of the aforementioned FC Dallas came on the pitch tonight in Mexico City and lit up the Mexican defense for an assist on one glorious goal, breaking a 75 year streak of the US Men’s National Team losing in Mexico to El Tri.  It was unexpected, it was surprising, and it was awesome.  Glad I watched it live.  Now FC Dallas needs to beat Vancouver without Brek to make it 3-for-3 on the goodness, but thats TBD and I’m old and need sleep.

Breakfast–I made cherry scones, topped with dark brown sugar for a bit of crunch.  They’re delicious and easy, my two favorite things.

Lunch–Peanut butter and grape jelly.  Just one sandwich while watching Franklin and Bash (good show…I’ll miss it during the year) and before…

Exercise–That’s right. I got off my butt and did a little work.  And by “a little” I mean I forgot how bored I get working out.  I burned about 200 calories on the treadmill–which decided to not communicate with my iPod–and then very briefly lifted weights.  It’s going to take a while to build strength back up for all disciplines, including the ability to run for more than 15 minutes without yawning from boredom. Like, I seriously yawned. How weird is that?

Dinner–We got a groupon (or two…) to a barbecue place down the road, and it was pretty good. Not spectacular, but better than most Houston barbecue.  It reminded me a lot of Jax Grill from Bellaire, which is always a good thing.  I had turkey and sausage with fried okra, which shouldn’t be a shock to anyone who knows me.  That’s my barbecue go-to plate.  It delivered.

So all in all, today was quite nice.  Abby worked a half day so we got to spend time together, and picked up a few things for my weekend baking extravaganza where I’m trying a few new things.  Gonna be epic.

Have a good one.

Leave a Reply

