Day 533–Heaven’s On Fire

I’ve said this before, but it bears repeating: I don’t understand how anyone could look at Colorado and deny the existence of an intelligent Creator.  It breaks my heart to see it suffering right now from uncontrolled fires.  I don’t often do this, but pray for the citizens of Colorado Springs and the surrounding areas…a lot of people are going to be affected by this, and many have already evacuated and lost things dear to them.  In my mind, heaven is on fire…they need rain badly.

On to happier things, my Gramps is here spending the week with us from Abilene.  It’s kind of a bummer that I have to work two of the nights he’s here, but any time we get to spend is sure to be awesome.  He’s one of the main sources of my love for food since he’ll eat anything.  I might be pickier than he is, but anyone who consistently keeps five types of Blue Bell on hand “just in case” is my hero.

Breakfast–Yeah…whoops.  I got distracted cleaning and messing around with job stuff/watching Marco Rubio on The Daily Show.  I heart TDS…I need to watch it more consistently.

Lunch–A sandwich with cajun turkey, bacon, bread and butter jalapenos (yep…they’re amazing), and some lettuce. And then I decided to be a little crazy before work so I had two Eggos with Nutella and sliced peaches.  It was incredible…I’m sad we’re out of Eggos. (And in case Mom is reading this, sorry we’re out of Eggos. Should have told you in person…not on a blog.)

Dinner–Steak bruschetta.  Thinly sliced filet with caramelized onions on crostini, or in layman’s terms, amazing deliciousness on toast. Good break from work.

Dessert–Part of a piece of caramel coconut pecan cake from Bonnie Ruth’s. The plan was to share it with Jessica at work, and then she decided not to help me eat it. Slacker.  So I brought it home and Abby ate some.

Shout out to Leah Bouteller, who is living my dream of interning in Colorado and making me intensely jealous with pictures and stories.  However, she has promised me video of a rain dance to try to save the wilderness, so it should even out in the end.

Have a good one.

Leave a Reply

