Day 521–Return from Israel

So, admittedly, I’ve been home almost a week. Sorry about that.

Israel was a blast!  From a foodie standpoint, since that is in theory the point of this blog, it was a bit repetitive and lacking in seasoning.  I don’t know if, as Americans, we overseason everything (definitely possible), or if I’m just used to salt being on my food, but a majority of what we ate was quite bland.  Breakfast was the exact same thing every day–boiled eggs, sliced cucumbers and bell peppers, maybe some fruit, cereal, toast, yogurt, cream cheese–and unless we were very adventurous (they loooove Italian food over there…who knew?) it was lots of falafel and shawarma, both of which are delicious but I was ready for a break.  From a non-foodie standpoint, it was incredible to see 3,000-5,000 year old ruins, go on an archeological dig, hike around, swim in the Dead Sea, and spend time with my in-laws.  Definitely a memorable experience.

I also gained a bit of weight on the trip, from eating too much to retaining water after travel.  After leaving at 216.0, the last weigh-in I did was 218.2.  Seeing as how I came back over 220, there is a lot of water weight to be lost, but I’m still heading the wrong direction as a whole.  I hope to get back on track this summer with a bit more routine, but I know it ultimately comes down to better decisions.  I can do this.

Breakfast–I worked this morning, the second time in the 3 months I’ve been at O&V that I’ve helped open, so I needed to stock up on protein to keep me full.  Enter wafflewich, stage left.  Two Eggos, peanut butter, and a new strawberry-jalapeno jam from the farmers’ market.  Delicious.

Snack–Some homemade spiced almonds. So. Freaking. Good.

Lunch–Met Abby at the Londoner where I had their massive buffalo chicken sandwich.  I only ate half the bread though…small victory.

Dinner–Pork tenderloin, roasted potatoes, and roasted squash.  It was quite tasty.

Dessert–While watching Burn Notice (eh) and Suits (!!!) I made some cookies…only had two.  Small batch, its gone, end of story.

Tomorrow we head to Ft. Worth for Father’s Day celebrations, including but not limited to a visit to Lonesome Dove, so I’ll have lots of fun things to report back on. Have a good one.

Leave a Reply

