Day 497–Rip VanWinkle

Um…so apparently I used to write a blog. I was reminded of this fact a few times over the last 50 days (give or take…its been 48 since my last post) and yet never really had time or brainpower to crank out a post until now.  In the last 50 (48…whatever) days, here’s what’s happened:

–Abby graduated from Optometry School.  That’s right: I’m married to a doctor.  We always thought there would be another Dr. Henderson, but I have to admit I didn’t see it happening this way when I joined HOSA in high school.

–Disney World. It. Was. AWESOME.

–Finished my Church History II class with a solid B.  With everything else going on, I’ll take it and run.

–Went to Houston for graduation, stayed for the amazing friends.  I also think I made 3 dozen cookies in the span of 36 hours, including a giant pizookie that was so good it was mistaken for brownies more than once. A brownie made of cookie dough people! It was amazing!

–Saw The Avengers and watched all of Series Two of Sherlock.  The Avengers, as you all know by now, was incredible.  Sherlock was just freaking mind-blowing.  If you haven’t seen it, find the series and watch it. I’ll wait. I even promise not to disappear for another seven weeks. Scout’s honor!

–Both of my knees went on the fritz.  It got to a point where, while running on the treadmill, both of them hurt badly enough they went numb.  I thought I was going through the wall behind the treadmill, but I got it stopped in time.  Exercising became dangerous, and that’s no bueno.

–Most importantly, my dear sweet grandmother Colleen Durrington passed away.  That’s really what started this absence…its hard to care about food and weight loss when your heart hurts.  One distraction led to another, and well…here we are.  Miss you Grandma.

I have noticed something interesting though.  If you don’t know me or haven’t been following me longer than 48 days, I’m a student at the Graduate School of Theology via ACU.  We often talk about the idea of our souls crying out to God…if we drift from His presence, there’s this almost insatiable longing that brings us back at some point, or drives us a bit bonkers through denial.  My body started doing the same thing about eating healthy, working out, and getting back on track…I was literally craving exercise, salads, vegetables, etc.  Just like I know its good to listen to my soul, its good to listen to my body.  I’ve had two straight days of pain-free running, salads for meals, lots of vegetables, lots of cooking…and I feel great.  Tomorrow’s weigh-in isn’t going to be good (I was at 219.2 the last time I checked, or 9 pounds higher than my low of a few weeks ago) but I’m at least back on track.  I feel like I fell asleep and drifted for a while, and then a couple of days ago my body woke up and resumed normal function.  I feel good…and that’s way more than half the battle.

Breakfast–Wafflewich.  Grape jelly, peanut butter, and two Nutrigrain Eggos. Boom.

Lunch–Salad greens with some sunflower seeds, honey roasted pecan pieces, red peppers, BBQ roasted chickpeas (homemade) and some salad dressing made of Lime oil and Passionfruit vinegar.  My job is very good to me.

Exercise–Ran for twenty minutes, burned around 200 calories, hit some good inclines, and no pain.  Just trying to get my muscles stronger…I don’t want that happening again.

Dinner–Peppercorn-crusted tenderloin, lyonnaise potatoes, fresh green beans sauteed with garlic and red pepper flakes, and a glass of cherry green tea.  It was fantastic, and getting back in the kitchen felt great too.

Dessert–Homemade almond shortbread (about a 2″x1″ piece) with some macerated apricots and a homemade caramel drizzle.  Like I said, getting back in the kitchen is marvelous.

Tomorrow I work some, continue getting ready for Israel (Oh yeah…We’re going to Israel in a week!), and weigh-in.

Have a good one…it’s good to be back.

Leave a Reply

