Day 359–Hey, Hey, It’s a Working Day

Oh Ben Folds…you make such wonderful music.

Today was “Day One” at Bonnie Ruth’s.  I say that in quotes because it’s still a tryout period; I don’t officially work there yet but I’m in training.  I really liked it though…I should get plenty of time to hang out in the back and learn some things, and the people I work with are great.  I am going to be a jack of all trades it appears–bakery, hosting, serving, and if I can convince them, some baking as well.  If you’re in Allen, drop by and come see me! (And don’t get annoyed when I’m slow and I don’t know what I’m doing.)

After work I came home, changed clothes, and helped Mom lug some stuff over to the new house.  Afterwards, we went to Home Depot to look for a push button garbage disposal switch…found it and installed it. That’s right, minor appliance repair to go with the new job. Look at me being all productive.

Breakfast–Steel cut oats with a tablespoon of peanut butter mixed in.  I wasn’t sure when I would be able to eat lunch, and I knew if I was hungry while surrounded by pastry then things would go downhill fast.  This meal was perfect…I only ate one bite of cake, and was even complimented on my ability to exhibit willpower. Boom.

Lunch–Chicken au pistou.  A roasted half chicken marinated in herbs, olive oil, and lemon with a side of fries.  It was scrumptious. And free.

Snack–Handful of Sour Patch Fruits…I needed some sugar because my brain hurt from all the learnin’ I did this morning.

Dinner–A crab cake, three shrimp, and some butter beans with sugar snap peas.  Lots of vegetables, tons of flavor.  It was really really good.

Dessert–I brought home two cupcakes from work…something I don’t plan on doing often, but it seemed like with today being my first day and Abby’s first day, a minor celebration was needed.  So I had half a peanut butter-chocolate cupcake.

Tomorrow is day two…yep, they let me come back. Six days. Get nostalgic.

Leave a Reply

