Day 358–Injury Timeout

Sorry I missed the blog last night. My mother-in-law broke her elbow in a fall yesterday, so the cavalry (Abby and I) came to the rescue to help her. Incomplete fracture on the head of the radius…no cast, no surgery, just some ice and immobility.  Under the circumstances I’d say it worked out really well, but I’m not the one with the broken bone.  Because we were in Canton last night/this morning, I missed weigh-in day, so I’ll get back to you tomorrow with my progress on my resolutions.  Remember: 215 lbs by 2/19.  Let’s do this!

There is a slight hiccup in the weight loss plan however.  Tomorrow morning I start training at Bonnie Ruth’s in their bakery.  This is a huge deal for me because A) I need a job and B) IT’S A BAKERY.  I love baking, and this place is the bomb with baked goods.  I hope to learn a lot, gain some training and recipes, and NOT gain pounds.  Should be a fun challenge.

Breakfast–A couple of frozen waffles at the Moore household.  Kathy and Tom are doing a 31 day juice fast, so “real” food is a scarcity at their home.  I also knew we’d be eating some junk on the road (like we did for dinner last night…) so I tried to eat low calorie meals just in case something went wrong.  Who knew the high calorie meal would be at home in Plano?!

Lunch–Subway.  Six-inch turkey and black forest ham on wheat with lettuce, jalapenos, onion, cucumber, and green pepper with a bag of barbecue kettle chips and water.  Let the record show that so far today I’ve eaten 650 calories total.

Dinner–Before dinner I had three Nut Clusters which is about 60 calories I believe.  FOR dinner, I had my mom’s baked ziti–without cheese, obviously.  We estimated that because it was normal pasta I ate around 750 calories for dinner.  That’s just ridiculous…I severely underestimated the calories and ate too much. Unacceptable.

Exercise–I ran on the treadmill for a 20 minute burn…275 calories.  That may not seem like much to anyone else, but for me something that small has made all the difference in the last 358 days.

You’d better believe that a week from now I will be celebrating what I’ve done this year.  The results may not be there visually, but I ran five minutes straight tonight. Five minutes!  I’ve NEVER been able to do that, even when I was a stick in high school.  I’ve always had asthma, I’ve always had horrible endurance, and part of that is why I’ve gained weight…working out sucked.  I don’t like being out of breath.  I don’t like having my limbs shake and gasping with pain in my lungs.  And I will keep doing just that until I’m healthier and can look at myself in the mirror and see who I know I am.

One week. Start the countdown.

Leave a Reply

