Day 337–Growing Up, Not Out

Two important notes on today:  1)  Tuesday is apparently going to be my new weigh-in day.  One of the big mistakes we made in Colorado was not taking our scale with us, no matter how janky and inaccurate it is.  Not being able to weigh-in for four months made progress difficult to measure, and accountability almost impossible.  So the good news is that even after four months of wishy-washy weight loss and a lull in motivation, I weigh 228.4 lbs!  That’s the lowest I’ve been in a while, and it leaves me 18.4 lbs away from my initial goal of 210.  The next step, of course, will be making that 210 into something healthier and better for me, but its progress nonetheless.  And who knows…maybe I’ll just keep on going past 210 into the 100’s!

2) I like the new house.  As you may remember, I had some severe psychological issues with moving after seeing the new casa for the first time.  This time things went much better, and I can definitely see the future there.  Since that will be the place my kids call Nanny and Doc’s house in the future, I’m glad its something I’m getting used to now.  And who knows…maybe it will eventually go from being a house to a home, too.

Breakfast–Apple Cinnamon Cheerios with half of a sliced banana (ate the other half whole, as bananas should be eaten).  I have a weird variety-pack box of Cheerios because I mixed the remnants of my Multigrain Cheerios, Honey Nut Cheerios, and Apple Cinnamon Cheerios together into one container. That means in a couple of days I should have a very weird bowl of cereal to enjoy in the mornings.

Lunch–On the way to get to the new house for another walkthrough, we stopped at Five Guys Burgers.  When I ate at Five Guys in Denver the first time, I was bummed/excited because there wasn’t one near our house in Plano.  Then we got the news that we were moving, and sure enough…there’s a Five Guys near our house in Allen, so once again I’m bummed/excited.  Excited because its freaking DELICIOUS and bummed because its so so bad for you.  I kind of wish there wasn’t one near us, but when you want a good burger, Five Guys is hard to beat.  I had a Little Bacon Burger with some cajun fries and a Cherry Coke.  Scrumptious and devastating to the waistline. Should have worked out today.

Dinner–Chorizo-Butternut Squash Tostadas, courtesy of TasteSpotting.com.  If you haven’t checked out TasteSpotting.com yet, do it now. Best food site on the web.  I’ll still be here when you return. So we browned up some chorizo, then washed it off (literally…in the sink) to get the fat off of it, baked some butternut squash, and threw it all on some crisped up corn tortillas.  We didn’t use store-bought tostada shells because they have so much salt and fat in them, but we used my oil sprayer to lightly coat some corn tortillas and then baked them in the oven with a little chili powder and salt to make them healthier. Add cilantro, refried (or in this case rebaked) black beans, raw red onion and there you go.  We also had side salads with a lime-cumin vinaigrette and I threw red bell pepper, raw onion, and cilantro in my salad as well.  It was a fantastic meal…I was stuffed with only two tostadas!

My lovely wife (if you’re reading this Abby, I miss you!) doesn’t come back until Thursday, so I’m still a 26 year old bachelor living at home with his parents for another two days. Makes me feel cool, although there are certainly worse places I could be. All in all, this is shaping up to be a great holiday.

One thought on “Day 337–Growing Up, Not Out

  1. I love that you’ve already decided that they will be called Nanny and Doc by your kids 🙂 I’m almost 30 and I struggle to call them anything but that too. Can’t wait to see you in a week or so! Love you.

Leave a Reply

