Day 333–This is Home

We’re back in Plano!

After driving for what felt like forever on Wednesday, being seduced by the promise of a warm bed, good food, and great company on Thursday, and fighting off those same temptations this morning, Abby and I made the final leg of our journey (for now) back to Plano. I have to admit–I missed my family.  My dad is currently in DC for a sports trip extravaganza (Caps-Leafs tonight, Army-Navy tomorrow, and Skins-Pats Sunday) but being here with my mom is a fantastic feeling.  I’ve already fallen asleep sitting the comfy chair once or twice, checked the pantry and fridge, unloaded some of our junk…it’s been good.  I’m really excited about the promise of the next however many months we’re here.

Breakfast–My day went backwards in health, from really bad to really good.  Nancy was kind enough to cook us breakfast the last two days, and we had waffles. But not just waffles…waffles with sliced strawberries, sweetened whipped cream, and maple syrup.  It was like strawberry shortcake for breakfast, and probably with the horrifying calorie count to boot.  But man it was good.

Lunch–When we got to Plano we had some sandwiches, but they were little tiny sandwiches.  This is now my life…better portion control, and better quality food. Tiny sandwich thins with buffalo chicken from the deli, a single pickle, and some lettuce. They were GREAT.

Snack–I don’t know if this qualifies as a snack, but here we go.  I had about 20 calories of York pieces and half a piece of bacon because we were baking some bacon in the oven while discussing life this afternoon.  So…yeah.

Dinner–I REALLY enjoy being home.  A crab cake, some sauteed shrimp, roasted broccoli with lemon and sea salt, and corn. Again, smaller portions, but it was really good.  It’s going to take me a while to get used to it (as in, some healthy snacking is going to be important) but in the long run it will be the best for me.

I would have exercised, but I feel kind of sick and I’m worn out from being in the car for what felt like years.  Hopefully tomorrow I can squeeze in a workout in between unloading the car and some trips around town. And I think there might be some Genghis Grill involved…God Bless Texas.

Leave a Reply

