Day 321–Back From Keystone

Well THAT was a holiday.

Seven of us (Tom, Kathy, Katy, Grandma, Martha, Abby, and I) went to Keystone to enjoy a “relaxing” Thanksgiving break.  At least, that was the plan.  In reality, we ended up skiing every day, getting up early to take advantage of smaller crowds and better snow.  It’s been 3.5 years since I last skied, and that was a small “hill” in the Canadian Rockies.  The last time I really hit the slopes was 8 years ago, and it showed. There was considerable rust, which combined with some icy conditions to make things a bit hairy on the slopes.  I escaped with only two “falls” on the week: one where something felt wrong with my skis so I had a little sitdown in order to prevent injury to myself or others, and one where a lovely snowboarder attempted to run me over and clipped the front of my skis. All in all, it was a win on the slopes.

Our town home was amazing, with plenty of room for everyone a nice cozy fire to gather around when we got off the mountain. We worked on a puzzle the entire time (a 1000 piece puzzle that only came with 999 pieces. Curse you Terry Redlin!) and played a few games of 42.  As for eating…we tried to be healthy.  Pumpkin chili, beans with buffalo sausage, sandwiches for lunch, bacon and eggs and oatmeal before skiing, and of course trips to Pizza on the Plaza and Wolf Rock Steakhouse (where I had elk…it was delicious). With the calories burned (over 33,000 vertical feet!) I think we came out even. And my legs feel better than ever!

Breakfast–Before the slopes today I had a packet of Apples and Cinnamon Quaker oatmeal.  I miss having a microwave for that reason.  Nice and filling.

Lunch/Dinner–Our last trip to Beau Jo’s for this go-round in Colorado. We had the Sausage Combo and I’m pretty sure it was about my calorie allotment for the whole day, except that we planned on that being our main meal for the day and we burned about 700 calories while skiing.

Snack Before Bed–A bowl of Honey Nut Cheerios and a piece of cornbread with jelly. Magnificent.

Tomorrow is the beginning of the end…but in order to keep the happiness alive a bit longer, here are some pictures for your viewing pleasure!

Leave a Reply

