Day 273–Panini Press Chocolate Cake

Yep. You heard me.  Now you have to wait until the end to figure out what I’m talking about.

In other news, how ’bout that Nellie Cruz? Boomstick for the win!  Tense game, hard to watch without stressing myself out, but exciting ending…and I can confirm that Abby actually called it two pitches before it happened. I married a psychic.

On to the food, because let’s face it–that’s why everyone reads this thing anyways.

Breakfast–Honey Nut Cheerios. Polished off the box…held a brief memorial. Then I threw it away.

Lunch–Peanut butter and strawberry (curveball…although Nellie crushed that one too) jelly sandwich with spice rubbed bbq chips.  That, coupled with the awesomeness of the Daily Show, made lunch incredible.

Dinner–Taco salad, partially because it sounded great and partially because I had some salad and a pound of ground beef in the fridge.  Doesn’t take a rocket scientist to put that together into a meal.  Add some sauteed onions and crushed jalapeno chips from Food Should Taste Good and you’ve got a solid meal on your hands!

Dessert–So I found this recipe on TasteSpotting.com that was a chocolate cake made on a panini press.  How, you say?  Using the secret weapon of a ramekin.  It’s a great cake recipe shrunken down for smaller portions (complete with chocolate “buttercream” icing) made using the two heated plates on a panini press or Foreman grill.  It worked PERFECTLY, although the original recipe was yellow cake (I added cocoa) and then some chocolate chips for a little creaminess inside.  The cake and icing were both delicious, took about 35 minutes to make total, and now we don’t have the temptation for another piece because its all gone. Boom(stick).

I have to admit, the sushi from last night left me stuffed, even until this morning, so it took a bit to get my appetite going.  It led to a strange internal debate: do I eat and keep my metabolism activated even if I’m not hungry, or should I skip the meal and only eat when hungry?  What’s your take, dear readers?

One thought on “Day 273–Panini Press Chocolate Cake

Leave a Reply

