Day 248–Fall Flavors

One of the things I don’t do very well is come up with plans for dinner. Occasionally inspiration will strike me and I’ll come up with something ridiculous, but for the most part I just go with what looks good in the market (which requires going to the market…that gets kind of old day after day. Especially when poor.) or something that Abby and I discuss beforehand.  Last night Abby requested either Hatch burgers or barbecue baked potatoes, which was a problem since I didn’t have any of those ingredients on hand.  I was all set to make pasta with veggies and chicken sausage, and then I remembered that today at our Whole Foods, 5% of all proceeds went to Cafe 180 where I volunteered last week. Couldn’t pass that up!  I went and picked up some Hatch sliders, and then when trying to find baking potatoes a big display of butternut squash.  The abundance of root vegetables available in the fall is one of the reasons I love this season…baked squash, sauteed greens, potatoes, carrots–I love them all. I couldn’t resist the squash, so that became part of dinner. Boom. Inspiration.

Breakfast–Honey Nut Cheerios!  Good for kids AND adults. And a delicious breakfast.

Lunch–Peanut butter, grape jelly, and honey wheat bread.  A classic.

Snacks–Pomegranate Chobani. My honey stash is in BAD shape…its cool and dry enough here that its all crystalizing like a boss. Crunchy honey sucks.

Dinner–Hatch sliders, sauteed zucchini and onions w/ soy sauce, and the aforementioned butternut squash with butter, cinnamon, and brown sugar.

Dessert–Macaroons!  I’ve somehow never had a macaroon, and they had them at Whole Foods so I grabbed a couple. They are the next big thing, so I figured why not?

Lion King 3D this weekend. Hello childhood.

Leave a Reply

