Day 239–Cafe 180

This morning I had the wonderful opportunity to go volunteer at Cafe 180 in downtown Englewood.  Cafe 180 is one of three or four locations in Denver that is run by the mantra “pay what you can, eat what you want.”  There is a gourmet menu run by a very talented executive chef, a staff that is almost completely volunteers, variety in the form of soups, salads, sandwiches, and pizza, and as the kicker, no price.  You literally pay what you can/want.  Some of the volunteers were working for their lunches (and that of their families) while the clientele was a mixture of lower income families and upper-class housewives.  One woman paid forty dollars for a piece of pizza and a sandwich!  According to the statistics I saw, last week they averaged $8.74 per meal, which is amazing considering the amount of “free” food they give out every day.  It was a great experience and I look forward to repeating it!

Breakfast–A cup of Strawberry Fields.  I’m getting to the bottom of the box, so there’s a bit of a rip-off on the dried fruit, but I’ll survive.  It’s still great.

Lunch–Arby’s.  This kind of goes with my observations from yesterday, but counting calories is really a brilliant idea because it wakes you up to all the little things you can do “wrong.”  Now, being obsessive and losing sight of balanced meals and whatnot is dangerous. I know this.  But for the second day in a row I ate over 1000 calories for lunch alone because I just didn’t realize what I was doing until too late.  I need to work on that.  I had a large roast beef and a medium fry.  Imagine if I had gotten the large fry like I usually do…yikes.

Dinner–Roasted pork tenderloin, smashed sweet potatoes with honey, ginger, cinnamon, and a little ancho chile, and then caramelized leeks and bacon.  It was FANTASTIC.  It always feels good to cook a good meal.

Exercise–Abby and I were going to go for a walk, so we got all gussied up and ready to go, then walked outside to be greeted by a slight drizzle. Upon looking at the sky, we determined it wasn’t going to let up, so we scrapped the trail walk and went to the workout room instead.  I did a brief warm-up on the elliptical (I mean like 100 calories worth. Not much.) and then started in on the weights, hitting all the major groups.  There’s a wonderful row machine at our complex and I’ve been hitting that hard recently…its a great work out.

 

Leave a Reply

