Day 236–Mountain Climbing

Yep…that’s what I did this morning.  At 3:30 AM, Abby and I got up, grabbed our gear, and headed out to Mt. Arkansas, one of my favorite peaks from working at Trek. We didn’t make it to the main summit (our legs wouldn’t have allowed that) but we hit one of the minor peaks nearby and got some awesome views.  It was a beastly climb, and according to MyFitnessPal, we burned around 4000 calories. Now, I don’t even remotely believe that, but if its anywhere close its quite the exercise. I now see why I lost so much weight working for Wilderness Expeditions…its tough work.  We had a lot of fun though, and after we got back down we went to Keystone and walked around, had lunch, and Abby got some ski gear on sale. I. Love. Colorado.

Breakfast–Fair warning: the meals today are going to look weird. Sorry.  Between the hours of 3:30 AM and 10 AM, I had two strawberry Pop Tarts, a peanut butter and strawberry jelly sandwich (coincidence on the strawberry) and about half of a Kashi Go Lean Roll!  The Roll! was supposed to be turtle flavored (the chocolate-caramel kind, not the mutant ninja kind) but it tasted like banana to me. Kinda weird…not really a fan.

Lunch–Pizza on the Plaza, our favorite pizza place in Keystone.  We had the Last Chance, with some alterations for our tastes.  I ate three pieces (they weren’t very big) and then we brought the rest home for leftovers.  Good pizza. Not Beau Jo’s, but good.

Dinner–Pei Wei!  We had some errands to run, so we dropped south and stopped at Pei Wei along the way.  I had the Mandarin Kung Pao chicken with fried rice. It was delicious.

Dessert–We also stopped by Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory in Keystone, so I got a dark chocolate caramel. There’s dessert.

Even with all we ate, according to the calorie counter I was still about 2000 calories in the clear. I hope we get to do this more!

 

 

Leave a comment