Day 222–Lazy Saturday

I apologize for the lack of postage last night.  Our friend Rachel was kind enough to give me an in to the catering company she works with, so last night was training of sorts and I was exhausted by the time I got home.  Nevertheless, it was an amazing night and a lot of fun, even if it wasn’t very healthy…she runs a chocolate fountain. Oh well.

Today was the first really lazy day we’ve had since we moved.  Every other day we’ve either planned an excursion (Salida) or been running errands to fix up our apartment.  If you’re interested in the finished product, check out Abby’s new blog, Sweatshirts in August!  It’s where she’ll comment on the brief stay in Colorado, as well as updates on her sewing and crafts projects. Check it out! Now! It’s okay…I’ll wait.

Now that you’re back, today was also the first day I was finally able to cook.  Granted, it wasn’t overly complicated, but it was nice to get stuff dirty for once in a long time.  Tomorrow I believe I’ll make something in earnest.

Breakfast–Scrambled eggs and toast.  We broke down and bought a toaster…for six whole dollars.  Money well spent.

Lunch–Arby’s!  This may be the best part of our location that doesn’t involve colder weather, precipitation, or a view of the Rockies…an Arby’s and Wendy’s right around the corner.  Amazingness.  I had the medium roast beef (a step down from my usual large…) and curly fries that I split with Abby.  Delicious.

Dinner–At Whole Foods the other day I got two hatch chile beef burgers, so tonight we grilled them up on toasted buns with barbecue beans and Henry Weinhards.  For those of you who don’t know what Weinhards are, don’t worry about it.  For those of you that do…you have every right to be jealous.  They were incredible.  The burgers were also amazing, as I’ve apparently figured out how to add seasoning to the Whole Foods prepared foods to make them delicious.  Hatch chiles…gotta love them.

Dessert–I had a Colorado peach and a few grapes.  Colorado peaches are surprisingly good. Not Texas peaches…but good.

So there you go!  I’ll try to be more regular in my posting from here on out now that things have settled a little bit.  We LOVE it here!

Leave a Reply

