Day 220–Salida

Today. Was. AWESOME.  As scary/nerve-wracking/stressful as moving here has been, I am able to take great comfort in the fact that I’ve done this before.  The two summers I spent in Salida were some of the greatest times of my life, filled with amazing personal growth and incredible memories.  Unfortunately, the last time we went through Salida it was just a pit-stop. We weren’t able to look around much; just a couple of pictures.  This time, however, we were able to take our sweet time and it was just a great day. Living in Colorado is so much more than I could ever imagine.

Breakfast–A bowl of Strawberry Fields as we got ready for the day.  Simplest and cheapest meal of the day.

Lunch–Amica’s!!  Definitely one of the top three pizzas I’ve ever had, and trust me–I’m large. I’ve eaten my fair share of pizza.  I had thin crust with pepperoni, roasted red pepper, caramelized onions, mushrooms, and Amica’s house spicy oil.  So. Freaking. Good.

 

Dessert–Country Bounty. A tradition of our youth group was to sneak out of the Hot Springs after showering and gorge ourselves on pie before our final devo on Trek.  One of the greatest treasures of this activity was the Friday Pie.  It was a chocolate mousse/pie/cake thing that is just delicious.  Unfortunately, you may have noticed this is not Friday.  So instead of the deliciousness of Friday Pie, I have this for the memories.

 

Because we couldn’t get Friday Pie, Abby got Brownie Fudge pie, which is exactly what it sounds like, and I had Strawberry-Rhubarb cobbler with vanilla ice cream. I LOVE the Country Bounty.

Dinner–Jason’s Deli with Rachel.  I had the smoked turkey on ciabatta with lettuce and red onion, chips, and a pickle.  I miss vegetables a lot since I haven’t been able to cook in a while.  Tomorrow is a produce run for fruits and veggies, and then I get to make dinner!  I’m excited!

 

 

Leave a Reply

