Day 187–San Antonio!

Last summer Abby and I had the opportunity to go on some amazing vacations, spending a week in Maui and then a week or so in South Dakota visiting my great-grandfather and experiencing some incredible fireworks for the 4th of July.  This year our vacations consist of going to Dallas to see family for 2-3 days and coming to San Antonio this weekend for Abby’s continuing education conference.  Maui…San Antonio…South Dakota…Plano…not the same.  Oh well.  We can still have fun!

Yesterday we drove into town and had Mexican food with Amanda and Chris Lee (shout out!) at Casa Rio, the oldest Mexican food establishment on the Riverwalk according to our local guides (and apparently Wikipedia) and a great spot to grab some dinner.  Abby and I split the beef fajitas, which were great, and then we hit up Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory for some of their caramel apples.  Those things are legit.  Today, however, was a little bit weirder.

Breakfast–Starbucks in the mall.  I had an apple fritter and some tea, because I’m weird and don’t like coffee.  Saves me the calories though from the sugary coffee drinks!

Movie–Went and saw Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, which was an entertaining movie for about 80% of it, then completely lost me at the end.  The more I think about it, the more disappointed I get.  That being said, it was still the second best movie of the series and a fitting end to a great franchise. In other words, Mrs. Rowling, DON’T WRITE ANY MORE. SAVE YOUR DIGNITY.

Lunch–We had a bit of an issue with the movie, trying to get lunch, and getting Abby to her conference on time.  We settled on the quick-service restaurant in the hotel, which had surprisingly good sandwiches at a less-than-ridiculous price, especially compared to room service.  I had a spicy sausage with peppers and onions on a pretzel roll, and a bag of jalapeno chips.

Exercise–Since Abby had her conference all afternoon, I decided to augment all the walking we’ve been doing with some body-weight lifting like push-ups, planks, and squats.  I was bored.

Dinner–Because its San Antonio, and because Mexican food in Houston really sucks, we decided to try my dad’s personal choice of Rio Rio, not to be confused with Casa Rio from yesterday.  I had street tacos, which is fajita beef in corn tortillas with cilantro and diced onions.  Authentic street tacos are made with white onion, but these had red which added some cool color and a stronger onion flavor, which I didn’t mind at all, especially with their delicious salsa verde (which was more rojo than verde, but whatever).  We also split the chocolate Tres Leche cakes (its vacation!) which was HUGE so we brought most of it back to the room for tomorrow.  Good meal…can’t decide which one I like better between Casa and Rio.

Tomorrow we head home, after the U.S. women (hopefully) take home the WC and I figure out what to do for the four hours between when I have to check out and Abby gets done.  Hotel lobby…oh yeah.

One thought on “Day 187–San Antonio!

  1. I was wondering what happened to you! San Antonio can be really fun! Hopefully the hotel will let you keep your car there and you can go exploring! So jealous of the mexican food!

Leave a Reply

