Day 135–ReDirkulous

Today was a little bit of a slow start due to last night’s fantastic Mavericks game.  And by game, I mean last five minutes plus overtime.  After giving up a fifteen point lead, just to make things interesting apparently, Dallas stormed back behind the stellar play of Dirk Nowitzki, Shawn Marion, and Jason Kidd.  I admittedly went to bed when we got so far behind, but then something made me check the score right before I fell asleep, and next thing I know I’m sitting in the living room watching an incredible comeback.  Good work boys…now lets close it out.

Breakfast–Cherry Pop tart and peach Fage with honey.  A solid way to start the day…as is not having to be at school until 8 instead of 7:15.

Snack–Peanut M&Ms.  I don’t know who left a big box of candy and chips in the break room, but shame on you.  You should know I don’t have willpower. Pssh.

Lunch–Had lunch with Abby today since she has half-days on Tuesday, so we hit up The Egg and I, a wonderful breakfast place frequented by my parents in Plano and now we have one in Meyerland.  We split an Apple Cinnamon Granola pancake (delicious) and a Mexican scramble (chorizo, black beans, onions, tomatoes, scrambled eggs, potatoes, and salsa) that wasn’t as good, but still passable.

Dinner–Homemade lettuce wraps!  I took the recipe from the new issue of Bon Appetit (incredible issue…get it. Now.) and tweaked it a bit for our tastes.  I marinated chicken and red onion in soy sauce and lime juice, then wok-fried garlic, fresno chile, diced zucchini, and added the minced chicken and onion until done, then mixed in some sweet chile sauce.  They were amazing…definitely will be doing that again.  The most incredible thing is that it was only one chicken breast, a quarter of a red onion, and one zucchini, and yet Abby and I were both stuffed.  Perception is everything…you give me a whole chicken breast and I’ll eat it all.  Give me five lettuce wraps that have a little over half a chicken breast in it, and I feel full.  Boom.

Dessert–Don’t need it.  I’m excited about getting smaller!  Two days of school left!

Leave a Reply

