Day 126–I’m Baaaaaaack!

Abilene was AWESOME.  I think one of the unfortunate things about leaving Houston for trips, be it to something as exotic as Hawaii last year or as mundane (to some) as Abilene, is that it reminds how awesome other places are both on their own and in relation to H-town.  The pace of life in Abilene, the people, the weather…all bonus.  In fact, it was 48 degrees Friday night in Abilene. 48!  Went from sweating my tail off just walking to my car in Houston to upper forties.  God bless Abilene.

Graduation went well.  This was my fifth ACU graduation in the last four years, and I can honestly say I’m done with them until I once again cross the stage for my empty purple tube.  I’ve heard most of the faculty, sung the same songs over and over, and lost 10 hours of my life I’ll never get back.  That being said, being able to celebrate Katy’s achievement was an honor.  I know she’s worked hard and to see her recognized for that was pretty cool.  I have some amazing in-laws, and every time I’m around them its a reminder of just what a blessing they are in my life.

As for the food…not so good.  My grandmother, Nancy, is an incredible chef.  In fact, she had her own catering business once upon a time, and it definitely shows.  When we walked in the door in Buffalo Gap we were greeted by steak, roasted potatoes, salad, green beans and a homemade chocolate cake with homemade chocolate icing. That of course required ice cream.  Needless to say, we didn’t get off on the right foot fitness-wise, and it didn’t get a whole lot better.  Waffles, Rosa’s, celebration cake, Cracker Barrel, random snacks and bizarre-ish eating times…not so good for the waistline.  I’ll weigh in and report back tomorrow, but I would guess that the 220s were a pipe dream that evaporated due to my laziness.  Lesson learned…painfully.

Here’s the rundown for today:

Breakfast–The aforementioned Cracker Barrel. I was immediately and rightfully skeptical because CB doesn’t publish their nutritional information online, so I tried as best I could to be healthy.  I had their multigrain and granola pancakes, with actual oats and dried fruit in the pancake batter, two eggs, and some bacon.  Could be worse…could be better.  The pancakes were topped with sliced bananas instead of syrup to try to help a bit.

Lunch–Subway.  I only got the six inch of my usual, and amazingly it filled me up!  I’d noticed recently that when I ate a footlong it was kind of a chore to eat the second half…something I did because it was there, not because I needed or wanted it.  So money saved, and my stomach is shrinking a little bit!  Small victories…gotta love them.

Snack–An apple bran muffin from Cracker Barrel that I brought home with me.  I know muffins are dangerous, and rightfully so, but it was still better than most filling things I could have eaten at our sparsely filled apartment.  And it was delicious…so yeah.

Dinner–Life Groups!  I love those guys…first really good friends we’ve made since we moved to Westbury where we just sit and hang out forever.  I love (some) of the people I work with at WCS and can sit with them for hours, but for Abby and I both to make the connection is pretty special.  Anyways, we had cereal for dinner, a brilliant and cheap idea.  I had a bowl of Fruit Loops and a bowl of Corn Pops.  Not the healthiest choice I suppose, but (commence groaning) I gotta have my pops!

So there you go.  Tomorrow begins the last real week of school, and I can literally feel the burden lifting off my shoulders as time creeps along.  Looking forward to working out tomorrow and getting back on the vegetable train…healthy eating FTW!

Leave a Reply

