Day 106–Baking = Weight Gain

So, I missed school today. I woke up and sounded like some bizarre combination of James Earl Jones and an old trucker (of either gender). You know its going to be an interesting day when you roll over to get your alarm, say “Man, its early” and your wife immediately asks “Are you okay?!” Needless to say, my next action was emailing in sick (isn’t technology great?), popping some more medication, and going back to sleep.

As if my enhanced baritone wasn’t proof enough, I went to bed around 10 last night and slept until 11. Yeah…thirteen hours of sleep. My body was worn out. Not surprisingly, after medication, fluids, lots of sleep and relaxation, I feel a hundred times better. Good night’s sleep tonight and I’ll be back on the warpath for good ole WCS.

Breakfast–Well, since I didn’t awake until 11, breakfast and “lunch” kinda run together. For breakfast I had cherry Fage with honey.

Lunch–Steel cut oats with Justin’s chocolate hazelnut spread. I think I’ve said this before in this space, but it bears repeating: Nutella is better than Justin’s chocolate hazelnut. Same ingredients (give or take a couple) but Nutella is just the best. Anyhoo…the Justin’s in the steel cut oats was a disaster. Peanut butter? Delicious. Hazelnut? Blech.

Snack–I made homemade bread! It was super easy, and I got the recipe from Mark Bittman, one of my favorite critics/columnists/bloggers. Anyways, for my first attempt at French bread, I was pleased. Here’s the proof.French Bread!

Dinner–Jimmy John’s. I had my first ever Unwich, which is a lettuce wrap instead of bread. Turkey, ham, bacon, cucumber, oregano, sprouts, and onions rolled into lettuce…very VERY good. I also had some sweet potato FSTG chips. Great meal.

Dessert–Made some more chocolate chip cookies. These I underbaked…a lot…and so they weren’t as successful. Anyways, I ate like 4 counting all the batter. Not a good idea. I can’t wait until tomorrow when I can (hopefully) work out again and get my metabolism revved back up.

I hope you all enjoyed your Easter, and here’s to May and the end of school!

Leave a Reply

